All Posts / China 2013

FOOOOODDD!

As promised, here is a delicious food post.  I will do my best to describe the dish, what it’s made from, taste, and approximate cost.  I hope you’re ready.

1.  Wonton soup.  This was one of the first meals that I really really enjoyed, even though it’s very simple.  Pork and chives-filled wontons in a delicious meat broth with cilantro.  A really yummy cheap lunch for only 8 yuan (~1.25)!

Image

2.  Congee.  A rice porridge with chicken, mushrooms, and ginger.  This was really good when I first got here, although not quite as flavorful as I had hoped.  It cost about 12 yuan (~$2).

Image

3.  Jiaozi, or xiaolongbao, whatever you wanna call it…. basically they are both kinds of dumplings (although the one on bottom is more like a potsticker).  Each for 1 yuan, total about 50 cents.

Image

4.  Fried rice with chicken and veggies.  This was delicious but pretty oily, but for about 12 yuan ($2)  it’s not an expensive meal!

Image

5.  This following meal was delicious…. a yummy lemon/orange drink with a cook-it-yourself beef fried rice with corn!  A bit more on the spendy side, I think the total for this meal was about 38 yuan (~$6.50)

Image

Image

6.  The owner of the restaurant kind of just asked me if I wanted something or other, and I was like yes….?  I had no idea I’d be getting a delicious curry! 12 yuan, $2 for this.

Image

7.  This was the first meal I had with my roommates… chicken stir fry, hot and sour soup, and stir fried broccoli.  We also got some delicious juice and dessert (not pictured).  I think total it was about $30 for all the dishes…. not bad for a nicer restaurant.

Image

Image

Image

IF you’re tired of food, take a nice look at the BUND……. 🙂 🙂

Image

8.  It’s not uncommon to see frog, eel, and turtle just chillin’ in some tanks at the local grocery store….

ImageImage

9.  SUSHI!!!!  Really good, but pretty expensive (a few dollars per plate)…… if I hadn’t been with another person who was paying, I probably would have gone a different avenue.

Image

These are my roooommmmaaaaates!  Who are awesome.

Image

9.  It was my Chinese roommate’s birthday, so we celebrated with this delicious cake……

Image

OMG YUM.

Image

10.  DRAGONFRUIT.  Such a pretty fruit, not too sweet and not sour or anything.  No idea how much it cost…

Image

11.  THIS IS MY FAVORITE MAL HERE SO FAR.  Basically, it’s make-your-own-soup!  Pick your meats, veggies, noodles, etc., and they cook it for you in spicy soup sauce.  AND THEY EVEN HAD BEEF MEAT BALLS (which I had in Thailand and were SOOOooOOOooOOOOoo good).  16 yuan, depending on how much stuff you put on it (today I got it and it was 12 yuan).  Soooo around $2-3.

Image

12.  This was also good, beef noodle soup. SPICY.  Yum.  About 18 yuan, $3.

Image

13.  My first real xiaolongbao!  (steamed dumplings!) This whole thing was 6 yuan, just $1.

Image

Overall, the food here has been greeeeaaaat.  There is no shortage of good food here, and I am definitely not sick of it.  It’s pretty cheap, but it can be costly if you go to certain areas or more expensive restaurants.  I’ve been making an effort to eat purely Chinese food though, and it’s worth it.  So.  Good.  I can’t wait for more food.  This will definitely not be the last food post.

In other news, I’m headed to Nanjing this weekend for an AIESEC conference!!!  AIESEC is an international student-run organization with clubs all over the world.  We provide internships abroad to college-aged students and encourage leadership development.  I’ve been to several conferences before, both regionally and nationally, but this is my first one in a foreign country!  I am SO excited because this will be my first conference as an international delegate, and I will be representing AIESEC US with one other American.  Total, there are about 10 international delegates.  Seeing as I am probably going to be the only light-haired, light-eyed white chick there, it’s sure to be a really fun and reaaaally interesting conference, haha.

In MORE other news, classes have started and work has begun.  All of them have been really interesting, and I feel like I’m already learning a LOT about China and the Chinese language.  Something I really like about this program is that they take advantage of the fact that you are IN China – we will be doing field work, observations, and interviews in one class, and in another we’re being taught by a world-renown professor who is a leader in his field.  I feel really fortunate to have these opportunities and I can’t wait to use them to my fullest!

PS, if anyone wants a postcard, send me a message with your address in it (look under “contact me”)!  See you later~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ o(==^___^==)o

Leave a Reply

