All Posts / China 2013

This is your typical pre-departure blog post. But really.

It’s been a while since my last update, sadly.  But understandably, I have been crazy busy finishing up my job in Urbana, moving out of my home at school and back into my home at home, working as a camp counselor for a week, and tying up a lot of last-minute ends before I leave for China.  BUT I figured it was about time for a pre-departure post.  So here we go.

Most people make pre-departure posts, and then post nothing at all once they get into the country that they are traveling to because they are having way too good of a time.

I hope I have a good time!  But I am also hoping I don’t forget to document it, either.  I want to be able to remember my trip!

But really.  Less than a week away, I leave for Shanghai in 6 days.  I am everything you can think of being.  Nervous, jumpy, on edge.  But also excited, motivated, and inspired. There is so much I want to accomplish this semester!  But so much I have left to do in these 6 days!

So, in lieu of a traditional blog post describing the city that I”m going to (honestly, just go look up Shanghai on Wikipedia…. cause that’s where I would be getting the information from anyways), I’m going to make a few lists.  Because lists are just about the ONLY thing that make me feel OK at this point.

Things I would like to accomplish this semester:

  • Significantly improve my Chinese
  • Make Chinese friends
  • Connect with AIESEC in China (AIESEC is an international organization I’m in at my home university)
  • Work on my research for my senior research project that explores why Chinese English learners make certain mistakes in English
  • Get lost and find myself (again).  I have the belief that you need to get lost and find yourself several times in life.
  • Say yes to everything!  Be open minded and learn a completely new way of life.

Things I have to do before I leave on THURSDAY!!!!!!!!!!!:

  • PACK! (OMG PACKING!!!! this is going to be a difficult task.)
  • Practice my Chinese?? (we’ll see how that goes…)
  • Create a final copy of my research instrument (the test that I plan to administer to Chinese participants!)
  • Make copies and prints of everything important that I might ever need.
  • Say goodbye to all of my family and friends.
  • Get a few last-minute vaccinations……. why did I wait so long to do that?!
  • Make one final trip to Champaign (my college town) to take care of some last-minute business.
  • Have some delicious American food to conclude an awesome summer.

I’m sure I’m missing a lot…. but I think I’ve pretty much covered the basics here.

I can’t believe it’s only 6 days away.  This time next week, I’ll be in China!!!

Oh, and here’s a picture of my puppy, who I will miss very very very much.

Image

Leave a Reply

